Follow Hannah

About Hannah

Biodiversity Ambassador

Hannah Emde is a veterinarian who has a life-long dedication to biodiversity conservation. She works in the most remote areas to inspire enthusiasm for the beauty of nature through her own stories and experiences. She highlights the importance of biodiversity and conveys the complex nature of biodiversity in an accessible way. 

Hannah was born in Bonn in 1992. After graduating from high school, she worked 12 months in the Philippines for the voluntary service weltwärts with the GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit). Later on, she studied at the University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover and became a licensed veterinarian in 2019. 

Since 2011, Hannah has been traveling in Africa, Southeast Asia, Latin America and Europe. She completed her internships at various research stations in the jungle, at the Friedrich Loeffler Institute (Riems Island), and in scientific zoos (Leipzig, Cologne, Wuppertal). She shares and explains her experiences regularly at lectures, on radio and television, and on social media. In 2020, her first book, Abenteuer Artenschutz, was published. Her first documentary series, Hannah goes Wild, is available on ARD Mediathek. 

In 2017, together with a team of professionals, Hannah founded the non-profit organization “Nepada Wildlife e.V.”, which is committed to global nature and species conservation. As a veterinarian, she works on-site in the project areas. These projects include; a research project on lemurs in Madagascar, a species conservation project with bull sharks in Costa Rica, protection of wild macaws in Guatemala, and various research projects in the rainforest of Borneo/Malaysia. 

Currently, she is working on a One Health project as a veterinarian and advisor at GIZ in the “International Alliance against Health Risks in the Wildlife Trade” project.

Follow Hannah

Über Hannah

Botschafterin für Biodiversität

Hannah Emde ist Tierärztin und lebt für den Artenschutz. Sie arbeitet in den entlegensten Gebieten, um mit ihren eigenen Geschichten und Erfahrungen für die Schönheit der Natur zu begeistern. Sie vermittelt die Bedeutung der Biodiversität und es gelingt ihr, komplexe Zusammenhänge verständlich zu vermitteln.

Hannah ist 1992 in Bonn geboren und arbeitete nach ihrem Abitur für den Freiwilligendienst weltwärts mit der GIZ zwölf Monate auf den Philippinen. Anschließend studierte sie an der Tierärztlichen Hochschule Hannover und seit 2019 ist sie approbierte Tierärztin.

Seit 2011 ist Hannah in Afrika, Südostasien, Lateinamerika und Europa unterwegs. Sie absolvierte Praktika auf diversen Forschungsstationen im Dschungel, am Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut (Insel Riems) und in wissenschaftlichen Zoos (Leipzig, Köln, Wuppertal). Darüber berichtet sie auf Vorträgen, in Funk und Fernsehen und über die sozialen Medien. 2020 erschien ihr erstes Buch und im Februar 2022 ihre erste Serie in der ARD Mediathek.

2017 gründete Hannah mit einem Team aus Fachleuten den gemeinnützigen »Nepada Wildlife e.V.«, der sich für den globalen Natur- und Artenschutz einsetzt. Als Tierärztin arbeitet sie vor Ort in den Projektgebieten, beispielsweise in einem Forschungsprojekt über Lemuren auf Madagaskar, für ein Artenschutzprojekt mit Bullenhaien in Costa Rica, zum Schutz wilder Aras in Guatemala und in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten im Regenwald von Borneo/Malaysia.

Zurzeit arbeitet sie in einem One Health Vorhaben als Tierärztin und Beraterin bei der GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) und unterstützt den Aufbau der „Internationalen Allianz gegen Gesundheitsrisiken im Wildtierhandel“.