Follow Nepada

My Biography

From Vet Med to Wildlife Conservation

I was born 1992 in Germany and worked after my graduation for twelve months in nature conservation on the Philippines for the GIZ (German Corporation for International Cooperation). Afterwards I studied at the University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover and since 2019 am a licensed veterinarian. Since 2011, I have been working in conservation projects in Africa, Southeast Asia, Latin America and Europe and completed internships at the Federeal Research Institute for Animal Health and Epidemiology in Germany (FLI)  and at scientific zoos (Leipzig, Cologne, Wuppertal). I give insights in my work and experiences on conservation, one health and biodiversity on lectures, radio and television. In 2020, my first book was published.

In 2017, I founded »Nepada Wildlife«, a non-profit association that promotes species protection through environmental education, veterinary work, capacity building and public relations. As a veterinarian, I work on site in project areas, for example in a research project on lemurs in Madagascar, for a conservation project with bull sharks in Costa Rica, for the protection of wild macaws in Guatemala and several times as a wildlife researcher in the rainforest of Borneo/Malaysia. My focus lays in one health, biodiversity, and science communication.

Nepada is the short German form for clouded leopard. This rare and elusive cat was the first animal I was working with in the wild. The sunda clouded leopard (Neofelis diardi) is only found on Sumatra and Borneo and is listed endangered. The species is still poorly studied and there is little data from the wild so far. More information about our projects, events and my NGO on www.nepadawild.life.

Follow Nepada

Meine Biographie

Von der Uni zum eigenen Artenschutz-Verein

Ich bin 1992 in Bonn geboren und arbeitete nach meinem Abitur für den Freiwilligendienst weltwärts mit der GIZ (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit) zwölf Monate auf den Philippinen. Anschließend studierte ich an der Tierärztlichen Hochschule Hannover und bin seit 2019 approbierte Tierärztin. Seit 2011 bin ich für meine Arbeit in Afrika, Südostasien, Lateinamerika und Europa unterwegs und absolvierte Praktika am Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut (Insel Riems) und in wissenschaftlichen Zoos (Leipzig, Köln, Wuppertal). Darüber berichte ich auf Vorträgen, in Funk und Fernsehen und über die soziale Medien.

2017 gründete ich in Hamburg den »Nepada Wildlife e.V.«, einen gemeinnützigen Verein, der Umwelt- und Artenschutz durch Umweltbildung, tiermedizinische Tätigkeit, Forschung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit fördert. Als Tierärztin arbeite ich vor Ort in den Projektgebieten, beispielsweise in einem Forschungsprojekt über Lemuren auf Madagaskar, für ein Artenschutzprojekt mit Bullenhaien in Costa Rica, zum Schutz für wilde Aras in Guatemala und mehrmals als Wildtierforscherin im Regenwald von Borneo/Malaysia.

Nepada ist eine Kurzform für Nebelparder. Diese seltene Raubkatze war das erste Tier mit dem ich in freier Wildbahn arbeiten durfte. Der Sunda-Nebelparder (Neofelis diardi) kommt nur auf Sumatra und Borneo vor und gilt als sehr gefährdet. Die Art ist noch kaum erforscht und es gibt bisher nur wenige Daten aus der Wildnis. Weitere Infos über unsere Projekte, Veranstaltungen und den Verein auf www.nepadawild.life.